Give Gourd Art a Go!

A quick update: My book reception and signing at KitNit Fine Yarns was a blast!  We had a great turnout.  Some folks brought their children, and the kids had fun picking through my alphabet plushies and choosing their favorites.

The weaving hugs the gourd!

Today, my friend Robin sent me some photos of a beautiful decorative art gourd that she created.  She used yarn and sea grass in the weaving.  Very cool!!!

Robin's Art Gourd

 

 If you’re feeling creative, give it a go!  There are a couple of books to help get you started: Weaving on Gourds and Gourds + Fiber.

And every size or shape of gourd you could possibly imagine is available at AmishGourds.com.

I just love one-of-a-kind art pieces like this!  Hmmm…I think I see a use for my yarn scrap stash….

1 Comment

Filed under The Life of a Knoodler

One response to “Give Gourd Art a Go!

  1. Barb

    This is wonderful! I’m always amazed at what creative things people can do with gourds – who knew? Gourds have such beautiful curves and shapes.

    I’m happy to read that your book signing was such a great success. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

